New Segment: Fiction Fridays

As I’ve stated earlier, I’ll be using this blog for a variety of things. Whereas updates on Missio Dei will come as they happen, I want to create something a little more consistent and I also want to start doing more creative writing, so this seems like a pretty good way to kill two birds with one stone. 

So how is this going to work? Basically, every Friday from here on out I’ll be posting some fiction that I’m working on. Although most of the stories I’ll be working on will (some day) be novel length, I doubt that I’ll have more than a couple pages’ worth by the end of any given week. No matter how much or how little progress I’ve made though, I’ll be sure to post something every Friday. Also, at this point I’m just following where inspiration leads me, so I might switch stories before one gets finished. But if I suddenly stop writing a story you enjoy, don’t worry, it isn’t gone for good, I’m just giving it a break so that I can tackle it from a new angle later. 

Now then, about criticisms: yes, I want your feedback! I mean, don’t be a jerk about it, but if something seems off like a character acting differently than (s)he should or somebody shows up that’s supposed to be busy elsewhere or if a piece of dialogue comes off weird or if I’m using a word too much or if something happens that just seems a tad too farfetched or ifmy sentences start getting too long, let me know so I can either explain it or fix it. I’m doing this specifically so that I can grow as a writer, and that’s only going to happen if you tell me what I’m doing wrong.

With all of that being said, I’m really looking forward to sharing my stories with you, and I hope you’ll enjoy them too!

Leave a Reply

