Day One

Today was my first full day back in Macon, Georgia, and let me tell you, it brought back a lot if memories. This city was my home last year, and I am really excited to call it home again. Last year I learned and grew so much at Missio Dei, and I have a feeling that this year will develop me even more. 

This week is all about moving in and getting the apartments ready for the first-year journeymen (students) to arrive on Friday, but after that the real work will begin. We’ll be taking classes on the history of missions work (Missiology), strategies for talking to people about the Gospel (Evangelism), ways to answer questions about beliefs that we’ve never questioned (Apologetics), as well as taking courses through the Berean School of the Bible which will allow us to become licensed as pastors within the Assemblies of God for those of us who want to go that route. 

The only times when we won’t be doing those things is when we’re on the road, putting everything we’re learning into practice. Just like last year, we’ll be going far and wide doing everything from church planting to spreading the word about church events in different communities to running revival services to walking the streets and starting up conversations about Jesus with total strangers. We’ll be going on some of the same trips as last year, and I’m excited to reconnect with some of the people we met last year, but we’ll also be doing things that we’ve never done before, and I can’t wait to see what all our leaders have in store for us this year to help us grow closer to God and become more effective leaders ourselves in His church. 

Thank you so much for your support of everything I’ve been doing here, whether that’s through prayer, finances, encouragement, or even simply caring enough to read what I have to say. I could never have made it to where I am today without you, and I hope that I’ll be able to make a positive impact on you as well. Thanks again for joining me on this crazy adventure called Missio Dei, I hope you enjoy it – I know I will!

For the Journey,

Kyle Hicks

Leave a Reply

