Read This First

First off, thank you and welcome to Behind the Blurs, one of the very few places where I speak my mind. As you look around this blog, you’ll notice something: I write about a lot of different things. Some you’ll find interesting, some you won’t. Some you’ll totally agree with, others you might start reading and then stop because you feel offended and can’t go on anymore. If that’s the case, I’ll be sorry to see you go, because there really is a lot to gained from looking at other people’s perspectives – and that’s a road that goes both ways. I want to learn from you just as much as I want you to learn from me, whether I’m writing about what’s going on in my life or current events or or my own creative works or whatever else I feel like writing about. So with all of this in mind, I have one simple rule here:

Respect People. I fully intend on writing about some polarizing topics, things that most people have already drawn a line in the sand for. I won’t purposefully offend you, but it’s probably going to happen at some point simply because we have different points of view. I know that you’re going to disagree with me sometimes, and you’re also going to disagree with other people who are commenting on my posts. Disagreement is not a bad thing. In fact, it’s almost mandatory for any kind of progress, because otherwise we tend to default to the “don’t fix what ain’t broke” mentality. (And no, I don’t use “ain’t” in normal conversation/writing, so don’t shoot me yet.) Disrespect, however, is definitely a bad thing. I’ve had online debates with people of completely different ideologies that have been completely civil, so I know it can be done. Don’t write people off, give them the benefit of the doubt.

Now that all of that’s out of the way, it’s time to move on to what you came here for. Find something that interests you and start reading. And while you’re at it, take your mask off too and join with us in the discussion.

Thank you for your time,

Kyle

Leave a Reply

